Lembaga Muzium Negeri TerengganuBukit Losong 20566 0
The history of the museum begins with the discovery of the Terengganu inscription stone in Kampung Buloh, Hulu Terengganu by Syed Hussein Ghulam Al Bukhari in the year 1902. This inscription stone which is the earliest to be found written in Jawi (Malay in Arabic Script) was exhibited at the Raffles Museum, Singapore in 1923. This was to be an iconic artifact for the new museum.On 3rd of February 1974, a committee was set up to oversee the establishment of the Terengganu State Museum. In the year 1981, a curator have been appointed to lead the State Museum. In 1985, this post was enhanced and converted to the office of Director. In July 1992, the Terengganu inscription stone was returned to state of Terengganu from the Muzium Negara in Kuala Lumpur. In 1994, the museum had its new home in the Terengganu State Museum Complex located on a 27 hectare land in Bukit Kampung Losong, Paloh, Kuala Terengganu. This new museum complex has buildings which are inspired by the architectural design of traditional Malay houses in Terengganu.